Are There Too Many Remakes/Reboots Nowadays?

ghostbusters_ver6_xlg

Hey, y’all!  I decided that today’s topic should be something that’s been on my mind for a while now.  Week before last, when I went to see Central Intelligence, I noticed there was a large cardboard cutout in the lobby promoting the film Ben-Hur.  Yes, you read that correctly.  Ben-Hur.

800px-ben_hur_1959_poster

For you young bucks that never heard of Ben-Hur, let me give you a little rundown.  Ben-Hur is a film that made in the 1950s about a young Roman prince-turned-slave that lived in biblical times.  The movie stars legendary actor Charlton Heston and has not only been regarded a cinematic classic, but it’s been preserved in the Library of Congress.  Needless to say, remaking this film may not be the best idea.  Nonetheless, it’ll be appearing at a theatre near you sometime in August.

It got me thinking…are there too many reboots/remakes now?  It seems like there’s a remake or a reboot of a movie every couple of months.  Even my mother is starting to complain about how there’s nothing original out there any more.  I’m not knocking reboots/remakes.  Some of them are really well made, like Cape Fear, Roots, The Karate Kid and Christopher Nolan’s Batman franchise.  Ben-Hur itself is a remake (the original film was made in 1907 and remade again in 1925) that greatly out shined its predecessors.  Then, there’s some remakes or reboots that turn out like Vacation and Steel Magnolias.  *Shudder*  I have to be totally honest, I’m going to wait until the new Ghostbusters reboot is released on video until I watch it.  It has nothing to do with the main characters being women (I love that aspect, actually), and I don’t think the movie will ruin my childhood.  I’m scared it’ll be as tortuous as Vacation was, judging by some of the flat jokes in the trailer, and I’m just not willing to pay full price for that.  Yeah, my boo Chris Hemsworth makes viewing the film tempting, but as I’ve always said, a fine man does not a good movie make.  Hell, Vacation itself was proof enough of that.

Ben-Hur and Ghostbusters aren’t the only remakes/reboots that’ll be released soon.  There’s quite a few that are currently in production or have been announced according to The Guardian:

  • The Craft (why?)
  • War Games  (WHY!?)
  • Commando (oh God, no!  This will ruin my childhood!)
  • Overboard (y’all just wanna kill it dead, don’t you?)
  • An American Werewolf in London
  • Jumanji (Rock is supposed to star in this film)
  • Porky’s
  • Drop Dead Fred (please don’t touch this masterpiece)
  • Soapdish
  • Honey, I Shrunk the Kids (*sob*)
  • Police Academy
  • Flight of the Navigator
  • Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (*prolonged sobbing*)
  • Three Men and a Baby
  • It
  • Cliffhanger (aw, c’mon!)
  • The Birds (y’all must like being dissed)
  • Flatliners
  • Don’t Look Now

I didn’t name all the movies in the list; those are just the ones that I’m familiar with/grew up on.  Movies aren’t the only thing being rebooted or remade.  TV shows also are getting remakes/reboots, or there’s classic movies being made into TV shows, and vice versa.  Here’s a list of a few of them:

  • Lethal Weapon (Damon Wayans is Murtaugh, and he’s too young for this shit)
  • MacGyver  (MacGyver is a young dude in his 20’s)
  • Uncle Buck (this time with a black family…can’t complain about that)
  • The Exorcist (I’m not watching this)
  • Training Day
  • Frequency
  • Thunderbirds Are Go (instead of puppets, it looks like it’s all CGI)
  • Prison Break (oh, God!  How many more prisons do they have to break out of??)
  • Voltron
  • Gilmore Girls:  A Year in the Life
  • The X-Files (talk about beatin’ a dead horse)
  • Twin Peaks
  • Taken
  • The Rocky Horror Picture Show (once again with an all black cast…make me proud, y’all)
  • Baywatch (this one also stars Rock, and it’s a TV show being converted to a movie)

rs_634x1024-160601093409-634-rocky-horror-picture-show-ch-060116

Wow.  That’s a lot.

Prince - No

Here’s my thing:  What made these shows and movies great was that they were original ideas that broke the mold.  There’s nothing wrong with putting a new spin on great films and TV shows for inspiration, but constantly doing it doesn’t give much room for more original ideas and would be classics to be made.  Also, like I said earlier, some remakes/reboots do TV series and movies justice, but others do them a grave disservice.  My advice would be to leave the great classics alone—like Ben-Hurand find new ways to break the mold.  Oh, and don’t touch Drop Dead Fred either, doggone it.

—Written by Nadiya

So what do you think about the vast amount of remakes/reboots for movies and TV shows?  Are there way too many, just enough, or would you like to see more?  Give me your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

